Tax 990

Utah Nonprofits
Registration, Tax Exemption, and Annual Report Filing Requirements

Utah Nonprofits - A Guide to Registration and Tax Compliance

Understanding the guidelines and requirements set by the relevant state agency is essential for successfully establishing and operating a nonprofit organization.

Here, you can find how to start and register a nonprofit in Utah, obtain tax-exempt status, understand the annual report filing requirements for nonprofits
in the state, and more.

Requirements Registration Registration Annual Filing Annual Filing
Required Forms

Required Forms

Articles of Incorporation Annual Report
Due Date

Due Date

Before establishing a Nonprofit entity Due on Anniversary date of the entity
Filing Fee

Filing Fee

$30 $10

Frequently Asked Questions


How to Start a Nonprofit in Utah?

To start a nonprofit in the state of Utah, you must follow these registration procedures.

Articles of Incorporation Registration:

To register your nonprofit in Utah, you must submit the organization's name and Articles of Incorporation to the Utah Division of Corporations &
Commercial Code.

Typically, this submission must include the following information:

  • Name of the Corporation
  • Purpose of forming the corporation
  • Name and address of the commercial and noncommercial agents
  • Name and address of the incorporator(s)

In addition to these details, you must pay the incorporation filing fee of $30.

Registration with the Department of Consumer Protection:

Starting April 2, 2024, charity organizations are not required to complete registration Utah Division of Consumer Protection. They will just complete the incorporation procedures.

Also, the new law mandates that certain charities submit their most recent Form 990 as part of the corporation's filing process.


How do you Obtain Tax-Exempt Status from the State of Utah?

  • Utah law requires nonprofit organizations to file a Form TC-161 (Utah Registration for Exemption from Corporate Franchise or Income Tax) to get an exemption from the corporate franchise and income tax.
  • Nonprofits are also required to file a Form TC-160 (Application for Sales Tax Exemption Number for Religious or Charitable Institutions) with the Utah State Tax Commission in order to obtain an exemption from the sales and use tax.


What are the Annual Filing Requirements for Nonprofits in Utah?

The State of Utah requires nonprofits to submit an Annual Report with the Utah Division of Corporations and Commercial Code, along with a filing fee of $10.


When is the deadline for submitting the annual report with the state of Utah?

The deadline to file the annual report with the Utah Division of Corporations and Commercial Code is on or before the anniversary date of the entity.


Are there any penalties for not filing an Annual report?

Yes, failure to file the annual report by the due date will be subject to a penalty of $10 as a late filing fee.


How do I file an annual report with the state of Utah?

Annual Reports can be filed either electronically or on paper with the state of New Hampshire.

  • You can file an annual report electronically through the online portal provided by the Utah Division of Corporations and Commercial Code.
  • If not, you can complete the annual report and mail it to the address shown below:
Utah Division of Corporations & Commercial Code,
Box 146705,
Salt Lake City,
Utah 84114-6705.

Article Sources:

Start E-filing your Form 990 Online