Tax 990

Mississippi Nonprofits
Registration, Tax Exemption, and Annual Report Filing Requirements

Mississippi Nonprofits - A Guide to Registration and Tax Compliance

In order to start and operate a nonprofit organization successfully, it’s important that you have a clear understanding of the guidelines and requirements established by the respective state agency.

Here, you can find out how to start and register a nonprofit organization in Mississippi, including obtaining tax-exempt status and the annual filing requirements, due dates, and penalties.

Requirements Registration Registration Annual Filing Annual Filing
With the State of Mississippi With the secretary of state Charity Annual Renewal Annual Report
Required Forms

Required Forms

Articles of Incorporation

Charity online Registration

Charity Renewal

Annual Report

Due Date

Due Date

Before establishing a Nonprofit entity Before soliciting any contributions within the state. 15th day of the 5th month after the end of the organization's fiscal year. This report can be filed any time on or after January 1st of the calendar year and is due by April 15th of that year.
Filing Fee

Filing Fee

$50 $50 $50 $25

Frequently Asked Questions


How to Start a Nonprofit in Mississippi?

To start a nonprofit in the State of Mississippi, you must follow these registration procedures.

Registration with the Secretary of State:

To register your non-profit organization in Mississippi, you are required to file an Article of Incorporation with the state.

Typically, this submission should include the following information:

  • Name of the Corporation
  • Name and address of Registered agent and office
  • Name and address of each incorporator

In addition to these details, you must pay the incorporation filing fee of $50.

Charity Online Registration with the Secretary of State:

Mississippi law mandates that nonprofit corporations must file a charity online registration form with the state before starting solicitation within the state and pay a registration fee of $50.


How do you obtain tax-exempt status from the State of Mississippi?

To obtain tax-exempt status from the State of Mississippi, nonprofits may need to register with the Mississippi State Tax Commission (MSTC).

For detailed information about obtaining tax-exempt status from the state of Mississippi, visit here:


What are the annual filing requirements for nonprofits in Mississippi?

Charity Renewal:

The state of Mississippi mandates that nonprofit organizations renew their registration annually with the Secretary of State along with a copy of IRS Form 990.

Annual Report:

In addition to the charity renewal, Mississippi law also requires nonprofit organizations to file an annual report each year with the secretary of state.


When is the deadline for Charitable Organization Charity Renewal and Annual Report?

Charity Renewal:

The due date to renew the charity with the secretary of state is the 15th day of the 5th month following the end of the organization's accounting period. This means the due date for calendar year following organizations is May 15.

Annual Report:

The annual report can be filed between January 1st and April 15th of the respective tax year.


Are there any penalties for failing to file an annual report?

Yes, failure to file the annual report by the due date will result in the organization being administratively dissolved.


How do I file a charity renewal and annual report form with the state of Mississippi?

Charity Renewal:

You can file a charity renewal electronically through the online portal provided by the secretary of state.

Annual Report:

You can file an annual report electronically through the online portal provided by the secretary of state.

Article Sources:

Start E-filing Your Form 990 Online