Tax 990

Nebraska Nonprofits
Registration, Tax Exemption, and Biennial Report Filing Requirements

Nebraska Nonprofits - A Guide to Registration and Tax Compliance

Understanding the guidelines and requirements set by the relevant state agency is essential for successfully establishing and operating a nonprofit organization.

Here, you can find how to start and register a nonprofit in Nebraska, obtain tax-exempt status, understand the annual report filing requirements for nonprofits in the
state, and more.

Requirements Registration Registration Biennial Filing Biennial Filing
Required Forms

Required Forms

Articles of Incorporation Biennial Report
Due Date

Due Date

Before establishing a Nonprofit entity April 1st of every odd numbered year
Filing Fee

Filing Fee

$25 $25

Frequently Asked Questions


How to Start a Nonprofit in Nebraska?

To start a nonprofit in the state of Nebraska, you must follow these registration procedures.

Articles of Incorporation Registration:

To register your nonprofit in Nebraska, you must submit the organization's name and Articles of Incorporation to the secretary of state.

Typically, this submission must include the following information:

  • Name and address of the corporation
  • Purpose of the corporation
  • Name and address of the registered agents and incorporators

In addition to these details, you must pay the incorporation filing fee of $25.


How do you obtain tax-exempt status from the State of Nebraska?

Nebraska law requires nonprofit organizations to file a Form 4, Nebraska Exemption Application for Sales and Use Tax, with the Department of Revenue in order to obtain an exemption from the sales and use tax.


What are the biennial filing requirements for nonprofits in Nebraska?

The State of Nebraska requires nonprofits to file a biennial report with the Nebraska Secretary of State, along with a filing fee of $25.


When is the deadline for filing a biennial report with Nebraska?

The due date to file the biennial report is April 1st of every odd-numbered year, delinquent June 2.


Are there any penalties for not filing a biennial report?

Yes, failing to file the biennial report by the due date will result in the organization's administrative dissolution.


How do I file a biennial report with the state of Nebraska?

Article Sources:

Start E-filing your Form 990 Online