Tax 990

Alaska Nonprofits -
Registration, Tax Exemption, and biennial Report Filing Requirements

Alaska Nonprofits - A Guide to Registration and Tax Compliance

Understanding the guidelines and requirements set by the relevant state agency is essential for successfully establishing and operating a nonprofit organization.

Here, you can find how to start and register a nonprofit in Alaska, obtain tax-exempt status, understand the biennial report filing requirements for nonprofits in the state, and more.

Requirements Registration Registration Annual Filing Annual Filing
Incorporation With the Secretary of State Charitable Registration Charity Annual Renewal Biennial Report
Required Forms

Required Forms

Articles of Incorporation

Initial Report

Charitable Organization Registration

Charity Renewal

Biennial Report

Due Date

Due Date

Before establishing a Nonprofit entity Due within 6 months from the date an entity is incorporated Before soliciting any contributions within the state. September 1st of every year January 2nd of every two years
Filing Fee

Filing Fee

$50 N/A $40 $40 $25

Frequently Asked Questions


How to Start a Nonprofit in Alaska?

To start a nonprofit in the state of Alaska, you must follow these registration procedures.

Articles of Incorporation:

To register your nonprofit in Alaska, you must submit the organization's name and Articles of Incorporation to the Alaska Secretary of State along with the filing fee of $50.

Typically, this submission must include the following information:

  • Name of the Corporation
  • Purpose of forming a corporation
  • Name and address of the registered agent

In addition to these, you must file an Initial report with the secretary of state within 6 months from the date of incorporation to include the ownership and/or officers of the organization.

Registration with the Secretary of State:

Alaska law mandates that nonprofit corporations must file Charitable Organization Registration with the state before starting solicitation and pay a registration
fee of $40.


How do you obtain tax-exempt status from the State of Alaska?

If your nonprofit has filed Form 1023/1024 and obtained 501(c) tax-exempt status from the IRS, your organization will automatically qualify as tax-exempt with the State of Alaska as well.


What are the annual filing requirements for nonprofits in Alaska?

Annual Renewal:

The State of Alaska mandates that nonprofits renew their registration annually with the Alaska Department of Law.

Biennial Report:

The State of Alaska requires nonprofits to file a biennial report with the Alaska Department of Law, along with a filing fee of $40.


When is the deadline for nonprofit organizations’ annual renewal and biennial report?

Annual Renewal:

In Alaska, charitable organizations are generally required to renew annually, on September 1st of every year, with the Department of Law.

Biennial Report:

The due date to file the biennial report is on or before January 2nd of every second year.


Are there any penalties for not filing the biennial report?

Yes, failing to file the biennial report by the due date will result in the organization's administrative dissolution.


How do I file an annual filing with the state of Alaska?

Annual Renewal:

You can file your annual renewal electronically through the online portal provided by the State of Alaska Department of Law.

Biennial Report:

You can file your biennial report electronically through the online portal provided by the Alaska Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing.

Article Sources:

Start E-filing your Form 990 Online